National Identity

Home » National Identity

6 Time Zones: An Interesting Fact about Canadian Geography

Canada is the second-largest country in the world by land area, and this vast landmass spans over 5,500 kilometers from east to west. As a result of this massive expanse, Canada has six different time zones. These six time zones are Pacific Standard Time, Mountain Standard Time, Central Standard Time, Eastern Standard Time, Atlantic Standard Time, and Newfoundland Standard Time. Each time zone is set one hour apart from the next and is designated based on the longitudinal location of a particular region of the Prime Meridian. This means that when it’s noon in Newfoundland, it’s already 1:30 pm in the easternmost part of Quebec and three hours earlier in British Columbia. The six time zones can confuse visitors and locals alike, but they offer an exciting insight into this beautiful country’s unique geography and size.