Constitution Act

Home » Constitution Act

Canada’s Confederation: How the British North America Act Established the Country

On July 1, 1867, in London, England, the British Parliament passed a landmark legislation called the British North America Act, which laid the foundation for creating Canada as an independent country. The Act resulted from years of negotiation and discussion involving colonial leaders and British politicians and represented a significant milestone in Canadian history. It united the colonies of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and the Province of Canada (which included modern-day Ontario and Quebec) into a confederation known as the Dominion of Canada, giving them greater autonomy and self-government. The Act established a federal system of government, with powers divided between the central government and individual provinces, and enshrined important democratic principles such as responsible government, parliamentary sovereignty, and the rule of law. This achievement marked the end of a long struggle for Canadian autonomy and set the stage for the country’s growth and development over the next century and beyond. Today, Canada enjoys a reputation as a peaceful, prosperous, and democratic nation with a strong commitment to the principles of freedom, equality, and social justice.